1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help a fellow bassist get the urge to learn!

Discussion in 'Ask Janek Gwizdala' started by J. Crawford, Apr 22, 2009.

1. J. Crawford

J. Crawford Supporting Member

Feb 15, 2008
    OH/WV
    Mr. Gwizdala,

How did you become what you are today? I know its a bland question, but any answer is great.

Not bragging, because thats something bassists shouldnt do, Im a good bassist. I can play with most people, and pull off most genres and techniques. Im 16, and would like to do something bass or music related when I get older. Esp. a producer, sound board, and sit in bassist or session artist. I have been playing for about 4 years, a bit less.

But... I cant get myself to learn my scales, modes, positions, etc. I just get bored of it, and start jamming to some song on iTunes.

I guess I need a push, and from someone like yourself, playing my dream signature Fodera, anything would help!

2. Hey Jordasch, I'm 16 as well, been playing for around 4 years, and at this age, I find I do have a short attention span. You need to try and expand the amount you can do something for, otherwise your gonna get to know a lot of songs on iTunes :) Also, find songs on iTunes to transcribe, probably something that you're inspired by. I tried transcribing some Motown, but I found syncopation very hard to notate at first, so I moved onto some Blues, as me and my teacher are working on walking.
    Also, the Hanon exercises will keep you busy for hours...
    Sometimes I do get bored of transcribing and finger exercises, so this holidays, I've been working on the Matthew Garrison technique, and composing a latin-funk song, using tritone substitution (which my teacher recently taught me).