Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help! A String not sounding right at all

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by OysterBoy, May 14, 2005.

1. OysterBoy

OysterBoy

Sep 19, 2004
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm a bit of a newbie bassist, so I apologize for what will probably be a silly question. Right.

I bought a used bass a while ago and used it just fine, though once I got it tuned, the A string gave me some trouble. On the 10th fret of A, it sounds very warbly / buzzy, and somewhat on the 9th and 11th. This is when it's in tune, anyways. The only solution is to keep tuning until it goes away, but by that point, my A and D are identical in sound. Obviously, this is a problem. I've tried adjusting the action, but to no avail. Looking down at the A and D strings, they are very very similar in gauge; so similar in fact that I think they may possibly be mixed up; though D is in perfect tune. I'm stuck in a rut :(. Anyone able to help?

Thanks,
    Alex.

EDIT: hmm, I should mention that I have no idea of the brand of strings; my bass guitar however is a Peavey Milestone 2. And side question; How would I adjust the trussrod (wheel located in base of neck), and what happens when I do ?

2. justateenpoet

justateenpoet Have you...killed the Venture brothers!?!?

May 14, 2005
    Connecticut
    Go buy a cheap set of strings, put them on, see if it goes away. If it does, then yes, you had a D string for your A. If it continues, take it to a shop to get it setup (your neck might have a weird forward bow in it).

If you're new to the instrument I wouldn't suggest doing the truss rod yourself.