Help amping a speaker cabinet

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by morrisman1, Aug 11, 2009.

1. morrisman1

morrisman1 Guest

Aug 11, 2009
    Hi, im new here and this will probably be my only thread ever on this forum.

I have got a cabinet with 4 x P1231H 80w 8-ohm 12" speakers in it. I believe pairs are wired in series then the two series circuits are then in parallel, as the cabinet says the impedance is 8 ohm and that combination gives 8 ohm overall.

We need an amp to drive this for the purposes of a bass line for music rather than for amping a bass guitar. I found this amplifier module: http://www.jaycar.co.nz/productView.asp?ID=AA0509. Would that be suitable for driving the speakers?

as far as i can see it will be but im not experienced with wiring up speakers like that. the 600w at 4-ohm should approximately half at 8 ohm which about matches the combined speaker power but im guessing there. The amp module certainly has the features that i need, thats for sure.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated:bassist:

2. why dont you just buy a normal power amp.

3. morrisman1

morrisman1 Guest

Aug 11, 2009
    bit out of my price range to get something big enough.

4. Even if you wired the cab to work as a single 4 ohm unit, which is not possible since the 4 drivers are 8ohm, you would damage the speakers because they are not able to handle 600w. Also if what you want is a subwoofer the 4X12" speakers won't IME give you the low frequencies a single 15" or 18" speaker could.
    I think it would be a better idea to sell the cab you have and buy a dedicated powered subwoofer. MAybe something like this might do the trick

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/American-Audio-PXW18P-18-Powered-Subwoofer?sku=601111

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/American-Audio-PXW15P-15-Powered-Subwoofer?sku=601110

5. morrisman1

morrisman1 Guest

Aug 11, 2009
    would the speakers not only receive about 300w as they are 8 ohm?