1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help constructing two- or more-octave scales

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by hoodrow, Mar 25, 2009.

1. hoodrow

hoodrow

Mar 7, 2009
    Hello! I've lurked this forum for a long time and finally came up with a question I couldn't find the answer to by simply searching older threads.

I'm relatively new to bass (been playing for about a year and a half) and am having a lot of trouble figuring out how to construct two-octave scales. I understand the idea - taking the root at the end and connecting it to another octave while hitting all the right notes in between - but I can't get it to work in practice.

Right now I'm working on expanding C Major into multiple octaves and it is driving me crazy. I always end working across three strings instead of four and can't seem to find a good way up or down the fretboard without it having terrible intonation.

Can anyone link me to any online resources or tel me any secrets? Any help would be greatly apprecciated :)

2. Where are you starting the scale. There's a bunch of different combinations, but the best approaches would be starting on the C on the E string (8h fret)

try something like

Code:

G|-------------------------------------14-16-17----||
    D|----------------------------14-15-17-------------||
    A|------------10-12-14-15-17-----------------------||
    E|-8-10-12-13--------------------------------------||
       i  i  r  p  i  i  r  p  p   i  m  p  i  r  p 

3. bassistgook

bassistgook

Feb 5, 2009