Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help! Damn volume

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by merlin, Oct 22, 2002.

1. This is not a battery thread

I have this battery...... no! :p

I have a washburn XB500, with active electronics. My volume pot is almost dead. Its been crackling for best part of a year and this is why:

It is very easy to change a volume control, I have loads of pots lying around my workshop. But the downfall is the thread on the shaft the pot. The one in my bass is extra long, runs all the way up, the pots i have, only have a little thread at the base. The basses body is thicker or something...

So i rang around some luthiers and techs etc. Best quote to change it: $45 min. Forget it, its electronics, i am a service technician.. $45 phhft bucks to change it. I dont think so.

So i rang one other place and told him my situation. He said he would order in the pot and sell it to me. So he did... 3 different times... 3 completely wrong ones. I wrote on a piece of paper:

100kohm DualGang Pot
    *number of preamp board*
    bass model number.

What did he come back with? 2 500 ohm pots for a passive bass, then a 250kohm that had a short thread on it. So he said he would ring Washburn and quote them the preamp and that it would take 2 months to get here. So i waited.. to find Washburn had sent me a 50kohm.. WITH A SHORT THREAD. :mad:

So my question is... what can i do? This pot craps out now with just vibration. It's loose to turn which means the insides are crook. I dont want to have to go routing out a bit in my bass simply because the body is too thick for standard pots you get from Radio Shack... Or do i take it to the $45 tech and let him deal with it. But if he has the same hassles....means more money.

:D:D

Merls

2. Paul A

Paul A

Dec 13, 1999
    Hertfordshire U.K!
    I'll bet you can get a pot from Farnell Australia.