Help deciding whether to get a Mexican Jazz or build a warmoth one.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Jacob M, Aug 28, 2004.

1. Jacob M

Jacob M

Aug 28, 2004
    New York
    Hi, my name is Jacob (obviously), this is my first post here at Talk Bass. I've been playing guitar for about 4 years, and I don't own a bass, but I'd like to. Recently I jammed with some friends and played a friends' Mexican Fender Jazz Bass, and I liked how it played alot. I'd been considering getting a bass for a long time, but the fun I had jamming on it pushed me over the edge, and now I'm pretty much committed to getting a bass. I could spend $450 and get the same bass my friend had, or (as I've figured it out), $581.98 building a bass cosisting of a Warmoth neck/body and order hardware from Allparts and get some Seymour Duncan pickups.

I'm heavily into modifying my guitars, so, aside from drilling the mounting holes into the neck, assembling/wiring the bass up would be no problem for me.

I had decided that if I end up getting a Warmoth bass, I'd get a black Korina one and only get an oil finish, partially because I've always had a thing for Korina, partially because it'd cost less than getting an alder painted body, and partially because it looks really cool. Is there anything I should know about oil finished Korina bodies that Warmoth wouldn't tell me, any problems or anything?

What I really need is someone who has experience with Warmoth to guide me and tell me whether the extra money and effort is really worth it, since I obviously can't play a warmoth bass to make my own conclusions. Also, I was just going to order a no-name bridge from Allparts, is there anything that would really justify spending $15 extra on this Gotoh bridge as opposed to the bridge I listed below?