1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help. Does proper soldering make a difference ?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by qervo, Feb 21, 2013.

1. qervo

qervo

May 18, 2011
    Here's the deal, I took apart my bass to paint it and I took a pic of the electronics so I would be sure to put each wire back where it should be , but I'm no expert in using a solder gun ,only took a electronic class in high school where I learned how to use one. I bought some general solder from Home Depot and put the connections back like the picture I took. They all seem to be solid . when I plugged it in my amp it all the controls worked as they should but for some reason it seems to lack a little in sound. Almost as if it worked 100 % before and now sounds about 75% . I don't know how else to describe it except it seems like the sound is just having a little trouble getting out now. Am I crazy or does types of solder and solder placement make a difference?

2. fbny71

fbny71

May 28, 2010
    West Hempstead, NY
    Hope you used electric solder versus plumbing solder. There is a difference. Electric is usually leaded rosin core.

3. Gord_oh

Gord_oh Midtown Guitars Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2008
    Michigan
    soldering does make a difference. but if its working, grounded and wired properly it might not be the connections. pickup height, how close they are to the strings makes a difference. maybe when you put it back together the pickups are lower now?

+1 on rosin core solder

4. bassbully

bassbully Endorsed by The PHALEX CORN BASS..mmm...corn!

Sep 7, 2006
    Blimp City USA