HELP! FENDER 1977 JAZZ BASS

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mjazzzz, May 11, 2020.

1. Mjazzzz

Mjazzzz

Apr 24, 2019
    Hello
    I really need help in this, a friendo of me offerme a 1977 fender jazz bass, but it weas restored, and I dont know If is original or not, for me looks ok but im not a expert
    Please HELP! IMG-20200309-WA0047.jpg IMG-20200309-WA0046.jpg IMG-20200309-WA0045.jpg IMG-20200309-WA0041.jpg IMG-20200511-WA0071.jpg IMG-20200309-WA0055.jpg

2. Jim C

Jim C I believe in the trilogy; Fender, Stingray, + G&L Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2008
    Bethesda, MD
    I'm no expert on these later 70's basses but it looks pretty legit to me.
    Have photos of:
    The end of the neck where the date could should be?
    Close up photo of the pots to check dates as well as the capacitor?
    Bottom of the pickups?

Also, I'm sure you noticed that the head of a Phillips bit was broken off in one of the neck attachment bolts which should be removable with a pair of Channel Locks.

DJ Bebop, HG1180, Mjazzzz and 2 others like this.
  3. That's what I was looking at too, think, "now that wouldn't be very comfortable to play like that" I'm no expert either but it looks like a mid to late 70's Jazz to me too.

Last edited: May 11, 2020
  4. ajkula66

ajkula66

Sep 23, 2016
    NEPA
    There's no serial number on that bass. For me personally, that's a hard pass then and there. It seems to have been on the headstock which would put this bass at '76 or newer.

5. El Thumpo

El Thumpo Four strings, no waiting Supporting Member

Oct 15, 2006
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Yup. There are 21 1977 Fender Jazz basses currently listed on Reverb. All of them have serial numbers on the headstock.

I own one myself. This doesn't feel quite kosher to me.

6. It was restored, whoever did it may have just sanded off the serial number.

LBS-bass and Mjazzzz like this.