1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help finding a bass cab?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by The Celestials, Jun 4, 2014.

1. The Celestials

The Celestials

Jul 1, 2013
    Delaware
    Hello!

I haven't been playing bass for long, I recently switched about a year ago from guitar. And I have a bass but I still haven't gotten a bass amp. I've been using guitar amps and cutting all the bass from the eq.

:rollno:

So today I went over to play with some jam-mates, and I brought along my Vox AC4TV, which is a 4-Watt all tube guitar amp. Fun little guy. It really doesn't sound good, but it works for me. I do this desert or blues(<--barely) rock kinda stuff. I've been using guitars with it for a few years, using felt picks to furter smooth it out, and give it a really cool Big Muff style slow attack. Anyways, that Vox was cranked, EVERYTHING dimed, plugged into a Marshall 1960 cab with my bass. And it sounded legendary imo. Of course, I didn't have any real bass frequencies workin' it, because I don't want to fry an amp that isn't mine.

So my question is, can I run my Vox AC4TV into a bass cab without damaging the AMP, not the speakers? And the amp only has a 16-ohm output, so is it true an 8-ohm wired in series cab will work? And do 16-ohm bass cabs exist?

And will it sound good?

-Me

2. Hit CL and buy something used of your own.

Plucky The Bassist likes this.
  3. Sid Fang

Sid Fang Reformed Fusion Player Supporting Member

Jun 12, 2008
    Running a tube amp into half its rated impedance isn't generally harmful to the amp, but it won't sound quite the same. Especially if you're also moving from guitar speakers to full-range bass drivers.

4. +1

5. Plucky The Bassist

Plucky The Bassist ZOMG! I'm back from the dead! Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2010
    Houston, TX