Help for a beginner who is still confused

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by beibea, Jun 27, 2005.

1. beibea

Jun 27, 2005
    Dawson Springs, KY
    Hey. I'm a complete bass beginner, and am looking into learning to play bass, and of course, purchasing my first bass and gear. I've read so many threads on here, but must admit that I am still pretty confused.

I'm choosing to take up bass now, because I'm a singer (no real genre; I love everything but country/bluegrass/gospel) and am looking into pursuing that wholeheartedly. Unfortunately, due to an illness a few years ago, my guitar playing was completely on hold for years, and I've found it exceedingly difficult to even begin to re-teach myself the things I seem to no longer possess. I had been taught entirely by myself with guitar, and will be temporarily (until I'm sure I've found a pretty good teacher that's a bit more laid-back than the ones I've encountered in my area so far) taking the self-taught approach with bass playing too. What I'm really hoping for here is a fresh start with an instrument that I've always wanted to play anyway. I'm hoping learning bass will aid my confidence and enthusiasm about re-tackling guitar.

I am looking to spend in a lower range (definitely under $750, although I really shouldn't be spending near that) for my first bass, and would like to have the bare minimum as far as gear goes. I want a good, solid bass, and really don't want to purchase one that is a $300 or less bass. So, really the $450-$750 range, I think. I wouldn't mind if it were used, so long as I really was able to get a good idea of what I'd be getting.