1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help! I don't want to make the same mistake again!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Thunderbird91, Apr 28, 2006.

1. OK I started playing bass in like october last year when I got my first bass. I rushed to get an amp and ended up with a weak GK backline halfstack. ITs only 125 watts but to me that was more than enough since I didn't plan to be in a band anytime soon. But.. I'm in a band now and my amp has to be replaced. It is embarrassing. I want to get enough watts but I really don't want it to be too exspensive because I will have to save up for a while. I'm going to buy an Avater 410 Neo soon and then I'm going to replace my head. Would 300 watts be enough for small to moderatly sized clubs? I would end up with whatever head (right now looking at an Ashdown MAG 300H) and a 410/115 half stack (both Avatar Neo's) would this be a giggable rig? would this be a good rig at all?

2. 300 watts is going to give you just over 3db more than the 125 watt head (into the same speaker cab)

- Will

3. Really??? :confused:

Explain. :help:

4. Kenny Allyn

Kenny Allyn

Mar 25, 2006
    Memphis
    Power ie: wattage is NON linear ... websters definition #3 of linear

"3 : having or being a response or output that is directly proportional to the input"

Therefore given the SAME cabinet configuration to double the wattage only yields slightly more db ... around 3.

The real factor is changing the cabinet to get the most from the wattage signal that you put in ... decibel wise

If you read some of the post on the forum about what bassest use from "back in the day" ... you will find that 300 watts was the norm for what was considered a BIG rig with pleny of power ... but then again we used a lot of 2x15 cabs back then.

5. Thunder Lizard

Thunder Lizard