1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

HELP! i have a big fullstack rig and i dont know how to use its full potential...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sylex's Bassist, Apr 30, 2009.

1. Sylex's Bassist

Sylex's Bassist

Nov 28, 2008
    Morro Bay
    ok, so im a very young musician. and i know barely anything about amps. but dont get me wrong, im not a noob when it comes to bass. im a recording artist and ive got a nice fullstack rig......problem is, other than connecting the cables in the right jacks and hitting the power button, i dont have a clue how to use it to its full potential.

do you think you could help me out?

ive got a Behringer 450 watt solid state head going into a swr goliath II junior 2 x 10

its also hooked up to a traynor cab with a peavey 18"black widow."

my problem is that the traynor cab is old and the labels for ohms and wattage is rubbed off. and i bought the swr used and it doesnt have all the information regarding wattage or ohms on the back.

so my question for you is this a good setup? because it seems like the traynor cab uses a lot more power, because im clipping out on my amp at about 7 with a passive bass. should i get a more powerful head? or maybe hook up another cab to split the ohm down to 2?

any help is appreciated. thank you for taking the time to help me out.

---Sylex's Bassit

2. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups