Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help, I need a little SWR advice

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DR Burkowitz, Jul 10, 2002.

1. Hey There Boys & Girls & Gifted Animals:

I have a rig problem, and I need some advice from my fellow TB'rs

The RIG:
    SWR Golliath II (x2)
    SWR SM-400s (very early model no cooling fan)
    DBX 211 compressor
    Boss Chorus (rack mount)

Bass:
    Conklin Sidewinder 7 tuned Low B to High F
    Bartolini P/U's & Bartolini 5.4 preamp

The Problem:
    Unwanted Distortion particularly from lower notes

Background:
    I've been running essentially the same rig for near 7 years now the most recent addition 1.5 years ago was the new Conklin Bass, prior to that I was using my Tobias Signature 6. Anyway The last 2 months or so I've noticed that shortly into using the rig on a given day I begin to generate a terrible distortion out of the cabs, particularly on lower notes (anything on the B, and about half of the E string), I also noted that the general quality of my tone was going to hell. Anyway after some help from my guitar player (I know, I know, don't trust your guitar player) we had determined that it was probably the horns in the cabinets (you'll have to forgive me I am no where near as gear tech orientated as I wish I was) so I called my local store of choice and ordered a pair of new horns. Got them today, put them in, and I have the same problem. Everything up to 2 months ago was sounding and working beautiful - the only other thing that changed around that time was that I finally replaced the original tube, on the advice of a local music store. The tube in the amp itself is just your standard 12-ax7, I replaced it as specified in the owners manual.