HELP! I need an Upright for College

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by redfenderj, Aug 17, 2004.

1. redfenderj

Aug 12, 2004
    I'm 17, almost 100% sure I want to play upright for a living, and I am in the market for a carved double bass in the $2-4000 price range. I've been playing my highschool's old Kay for the last four years and I need something that isn't going to cost a fortune but is sufficient for college (as if college didn't cost enough by itself!) Any suggestions?
  2. JJBluegrasser

JJBluegrasser Wannabe Snazzy Dresser

Apr 17, 2003
    USA, Raleigh, NC
    The Newbie Links can be really helpful for things like this, too. There's a lot of knowledge on this board, but you can't expect everyone to repeat it over and over. Check out what they've already said, you'll probably find good info.

Happy Hunting!
  3. Chef

Chef Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

May 23, 2004
    Columbia MO
    Staff Reviewer; Bass Gear Magazine
  4. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

May 12, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    Where are you located???
  5. redfenderj

Aug 12, 2004
    I like in Dekalb, IL... couple of hours drive from Chicago. My teacher says that If I look hard enough that I can find one in the city for a real deal but I was just wondering if anyone is in my kind of situation.
  6. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

May 12, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN
    check out the for sale section, no relation to seller:

3/4 Carved DB for sale in Chicago

Looking to sell my bass. It's a 1960's era carved Hofner, in very decent condition. Good tone and playability. I have owned it for the last 25 years, and it is taken care of by a very good luthier. If interested you can email me for more information at . Thanks...
  7. CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    Does the 4k include electronics [assuming you want @ least one pickup], bag, setup, and possibly a bow?