Help. I think i'm losing direction...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by MicG, Jan 18, 2006.

1. MicG

MicG Supporting Member

Hi, I'm not sure if i'm in the right place here so please except my apologies for the long post.

About me: I'm new to but not to playing bass. I've actually been playing music since I picked up the Trombone back in middle school about 10+ years ago. I only began to explore playing bass about half way through High School (while I was still playing t-bone) roughly 5 years ago. During that same period of time back in high school I meant a friend who played guitar; him and I have been playing together ever since. I'm currently a 3rd year college student who doesnt play t-bone anymore, but rather bass instead. My friend and I jam when we can but because we go to different schools our time practicing together has been significantly reduced, so for the most part I just practice on my own all the time now...

My problem: The trouble is that all my friend and I ever really played was Alt. Rock cover stuff (Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam, etc...) Unfortunately that means that a lot of my practice time has been spent by learning tabs and catching things by ear. Not necessarily playing the instrument-just having fun (perhaps too much?). Now I'm finding that we both tend to agree: playing the same covers again and again all the time just becomes boring. It seems that we want to start writing our own material. So needless to say i've discovered a few major flaws about my playing as of late:

1. I don't know how to "jam" in any key. I'm not sure of my playing when I try to do this so instead I just sort-of "feel" my way around the fret-board by ear, sometimes playing the right notes, often times not.
    2. Because of #1, I can't seem to write a meaningful bassline on my own