Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help, Im confused about 'Double Slapping'?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Carrillo, Jun 16, 2002.

1. Carrillo

Carrillo

Mar 29, 2002
    Ontario, Canada
    First off... Ive been playing slap for a while now, and im doing pretty good, previously I had been playing with a pick for like 7 years... i got sucked into punk rock and Matt Freeman style bass.

Anyways, a buddy of mine sais I should learn Double Slap which is using ur thumb, and then your pinky? I have been trying to do this but I am getting no result... I have been looking on the forums,and all I found which is Double Thumping, which even confuses me more!!!

Is there such thing as double Slap?

2. No_Fingures

No_Fingures

Jun 17, 2002
    Boston Ma
    Become superhuman i have always wanted try and learn that....My friend can do it for one or 2 times but it becomes dead really fast

3. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    I don't know if this is what you're talking about, but do you mean using the thumb, quickly followed by the other side of your hand?

If so, I do this, but it isn't all too practical. Try keeping your index finger straight and use it as the axis of rotation. The "proper" motion is twisting the wrist back and forth, but try to stay relaxed or you'll get hurt. Also, don't just use your pinky - for a more percussive effect, use your ring and pinky together.

Hope this helps!

4. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    when I first read your post I thought "what the hell is this kid on?" then I realized that what you decribed is a technique I've used alot in the past and still do on occasion. heh.