Help! I'm paranoid and need reassurance.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by paniak17, Jan 24, 2006.

1. Well.........i'm sure by now all the frequenet TB members know about my constant cornial abrasion problems.....and......well.....i've become a little paranoid over my eyes. My teacher today said in biology that -8 and -9 vision was bad. And that worse vision puts you against the odds more for Retina Detachment (We watched a video of it and it scared me a lot). I have a -3.75 magnification and i'm a freshman. It's only going to get worse. But by then i'm guessing that vision corrective surgery will be better...and that will help. Anyways, I don't know what I'm asking really, I guess just a rant. Post comments.

EDIT: post your vision in magnification and your age. Thanks.
  2. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ
    -1.5 and -1.75

i'm 19
  3. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Lets say you arent paranoid and your situation sucks as bad as you think...

What can you do about it?
  4. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    -3.75 and -4.25 at age 34. If I wore glasses, they would be Coke bottles.

5. Nothing. At. All.
  6. alapantera

Mar 22, 2004
    i'm -8.00 in each eye, age 22... it's not so bad, I can still see fuzzy shapes and colors. :smug:
  7. Does anyone know the magnification of your eye if your legally blind?
  8. Phil Mastro

Phil Mastro

Nov 18, 2004
    -0.5 and -0.25... with some astigmatism in my right eye, i dunno which eye is which... nothing to complain about really. I'm 22.

My mom's pretty bad, she was around -4 when she was maybe 15, and she hasn't regressed that much since then. So if I were you, I wouldn't worry to much about that retina issue. I'd be surprised if you went down to -8 or -9.
  9. alapantera

Mar 22, 2004
    I don't know about the magnification, but here's an explanation I found.
  10. JoshB