Help........Im too white!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by page, Jun 30, 2005.

1. Ok, since I started playing bass, like almost 2 years now, all Ive mainly played is prog/metal/hard rock. Stuff with no soul or groove for the most part. Ive gotten to where my bass playing is very mechanical , good for stuff like that but it has no flow or groove or bounce.

Lately ive been getting into Jazz and Fusion and stuff that has groove and soul and bounce and stuff. So any advice on how to add this to my playing? Im not so much interested in slap as I am in bass lines that flow, like Jamerson stuff.

I bought a Marvin Gaye tab book and Im workin on those basslines, trying to gain some flow. That stuff is challenging, and yet, even though im not gonna give up on that stuff, I want something that will help me grow without killing me first. Some easy but helpful basslines ?

Thanks alot guys, any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I hope this isnt too confusing :D :D
  2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Juan Alderette of the Mars Volta said that in order to nail a certain style of music, you have to immerse yourself into it. He is right.

Here's what I would do...start listening to anything put out by Motown, Stax/Volt, or Atlantic soul music. Check out not only Jamerson, but Duck Dunn's great work with Stax/Volt like Otis Redding, Sam And Dave, Carla Thomas, etc.

There's a lot of Stax basslines that are fairly easy that will give you some great ideas, like "Time Is Tight" and "Green Onions" by Booker T and the MG's, "Try A Little Tenderness" by Otis Redding, and "Hold On I'm Comin'" and "Soul Man" by Sam And Dave. Motown is often a bit tough for a newcomer, but Duck Dunn's parts usually aren't too tough, but there's groove for days.
  3. thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA