Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help! I'm white,have great rythm,above average solo's,but no funk.At all!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by str8bass69, Dec 4, 2004.

1. I've been playing for about 13-14 years.I've got great rythm,straight,syncopated,and others.Drummers that I've played with say I'm really easy to sync with.I would have to say my solo's are above average for the style of rock that I have been playing(party rock,dance,light alternative,ect.).I have no problems doing 16th's or tripplets with my right hand,or any walking line or hammeron with my left.My problem is in the funk department!Everytime I try to incorperate my thumb in the mix,it just seems to screw everything up.I can use it on my E string and pop my D a little.But thats it.One of my good buddies is a phenominal progressive jazz-funk bassist and has tried to show me different techniques.I've even watched videos of Manring,Wooten,and Jaco,but I just cant make it sound smooth.My thumb seems to hit every other string except the one it's supposed to.My freind goes to this bass clinic in Penn.every year and is always trying to talk me into going.They even asked him to help instruct this year,but I think I would feel very intimidated.What do you think?I'm open to any suggestions.

2. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Funk doesn't require the "thumb" &/or slap 'n' pop techniques.

You say "...I have no problems doing 1/16th's or triplets with my right hand..."
    Can you play finger-funk?
    ...meaning Jamerson, Bootsy, Bernard Odum, Chuck Rainey, Rocco, Jaco, Verdine White, George Porter Jr, Paul Jackson, Anthony Jackson, Will Lee, Gary Willis, Jeff Berlin, Oteil, etc.

3. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA