Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help in choosing a bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by OxhadokenxO, Jun 29, 2002.

1. Ok..first things first....I have no clue how to play bass so please keep things simple otherwise...I just wont understand it..I don't even know how to read music....do you think its possible for me to learn at all? And I'm not looking into being in a band anytime soon even after I do learn to play well...is bass fun enough to play alone to keep my interest? If the answer the all of the above is yes..I need help choosing a bass...I don't have much to spend..and I've seen Bass starter packs that look intriguing but I dont know their quality...as I said I don't need top of the line equipment since I'm just learning..what about this http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7...5057895760/search/g=bass/detail/base_id/46132 bass package? Is it pure junk ...I know it can't be great for that price but would it work ..? Also I'm left handed...which makes it fairly hard to just pick up a friends bass and tinker and also hard to find a starter pack...any info and or suggestions are welcomed..thanks alot.

2. The best thing to do would probably be to post your approximate budget here, and what you want to get for that budget. Make sure you pick up a left handed bass and play around, then a right handed and play around because I have a lot of left handed friends that play right handed guitar or bass. There are options for you no matter what the price range. Tell us what you want.

Mike

3. I'm a lefty, and play righty, it's just too hard to find left handed basses, you really limit yourself in your selection.

There is no reason why you can't play a right handed bass as well as a left handed one, as both hands are used with equal effort.