Help- Looking for a new amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by deanthemachine, May 3, 2005.

1. deanthemachine

May 3, 2005
    I have been playing bass for about 5 years now and am still using the same amp since I started. (yorkville 100-watt) It wasnt until recently that I joined a really good bunch of guys and are about to start doing shows. I need a new amp, thats just basically bigger than the one I have now.

So I was just wondering what would some suggestions for a new amp for myself. Im a real noob when it comes to amps so any feedback would be appreciated. I was thinking along the lines of 300-watts but I dont really know what Im gonna need. Im willing to spend anywhere from $500-1200.
  2. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003
    Mandeville, LA
    Welcome to TalkBass.

The "search" feature will help you, as will getting in the shops and trying out different models..... but I think the most-commonly-recommended-around-here budget rig for players in your situation is the Avatar B212 / Ashdown MAG 300H deal that you find here, for right at $600 shipped: bass.htm

I'd throw in the casters, and I'd get the cab in an 8-ohm config to allow a second cab to be added later....

What kind of music? How big are the rooms? How many in your band? etc. etc..... :cool:
  3. deanthemachine

May 3, 2005
    Oh my just noticed the search feature now, and the stickied forums :meh: ohh well.

Thanks for the quick reply. Its an older style rock band, were playing most of our own stuff with a few halen songs. Two guitarists, singer drummer, and then myself. (BTW play a fender jazz V-string) We are going to be playing shows at smaller venues for the time being, but we are already booked for an out-door show on canada day, so I have the feeling il need some power. Even if I dont need alot now, Im hoping this new amp will have enough power so that I wont need to buy another amp.
  4. bigbeefdog

bigbeefdog Who let the dogs in?

Jul 7, 2003