1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help! Low B thumps, but won't sustain like the other strings.

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Coke Kane, Jul 1, 2012.

1. Coke Kane

Coke Kane Supporting Member

May 16, 2010
    La Puente, CA
    I'm new to the 5 string bass world. Is the low B suppose to only thump? I can't get it to ring out and sustain like the other strings. Please advise. Thank you.

2. tylerwylie

tylerwylie

Jan 5, 2008
    Dunwoody, GA
    Might be a dead string, but checking pickup height, action, and making sure there are no twists in the strings would be the first thing for me.

These might help:

3. Richardee62

Richardee62

Apr 1, 2011
    Alabama
    I concur!

4. Jay2U

Jay2U Not as bad as he lóòks

Dec 7, 2010
    22 ft below sea level
    If it isn't twisted, it may be a bad string. I recently had a bad one right out of the package. It was the E-string of a set of GHS precision flatwounds. It didn't produce more than "fmp". :crying:
    Before throwing the string away, just check whether it bends sharply over the nut. Fat strings need to be pressed over the nut firmly. Also press them over the saddle, so they follow the curve of the saddle.

5. SLaPiNFuNK

SLaPiNFuNK Commercial User

Jul 28, 2006
    LA California
    The Brains: FretNation.com
    More information?

String type / bass?

6. Coke Kane

Coke Kane Supporting Member

May 16, 2010
    La Puente, CA
    Fender Jazz Bass 24 V 5-string with DR SS Lo Rider. I like to play the E on the 5th fret of the B string because it sounds deeper, but there's absolutely no sustain like the other strings. One loud initial thumb then it fades quickly.

7. knuckle_head

knuckle_head Commercial User

Jul 30, 2002
    Seattle
    Owner; Knuckle Guitar Works & Circle K Strings
    B string's too loose - up the gauge

8. SoVeryTired

SoVeryTired Endorsing nothing, recommending much