Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help me choose a good cab to go with my new GK head.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Blackbird, Oct 9, 2000.

1. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    I have been a bassist for over 12 years and I've always played through combos. That's about to change, though. Thanks to good, old fashioned, treacherous last-minute bidding, I was able to snag a Gallien Krueger 400 RB head off of eBay last week for $200. The question I pose to all you experienced Head + cab people out there is: What cab should I buy to get the most out of my new bass head? 1x15? 2x10? 4x10? any particular brand? Your thoughts, please.

Will C.:cool:

2. White_Knight

White_Knight

Mar 19, 2000
    USA
    Well, I'd go for a 15", but that's my opinion. If you're going to go for a single cab, you'll need to be thinking in terms of what you want tone-wise. For example: a 4x10" cabinent will be very punchy and move plenty of air compared to the rounder sounding 15". Since I play mostly jazz and ska, I really like the depth and smoothness that a 15" gives you. Then again, if you play lots of slap or need the extra air that those 10"s are moving, a 2x10" or a 4x10" may be what you want. I'd try out every cab that I can. If you're thinking in terms of stack, then there's always the time-tested setups of a 1x15" and a 2x10" stack or the larger 1x18" and 4x10" stack. These will give you a great full range sound with planty of power. I don't know off-hand what the amp in that GK can handle, but make sure that you're cab (or cabs) will work fine impedance-wise for that amp.

As far as brand goes, I've always really liked Eden and SWR. Other good, reputable brands include Ampeg and Hartke.

http://www.swrsound.com
    http://www.eden-electronics.com
    http://www.ampeg.com