1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help Me Choose Budget Amp for Home Recording

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Andy Mellor, Mar 23, 2019.

1. Andy Mellor

Andy Mellor

Mar 22, 2019
    Hello.
    I'm setting up a home recording studio. I'm primarily a guitarist but bought a Bass because: a) Basses are cool, b) I think developing an understanding of Bass parts by actually learning to play them will make me a better musician and c) I want to record my own Bass parts rather than laying down a synthesised track in a DAW. So I am now the proud owner of a 1981 Aria RSB Performer Bass. Sadly I am lacking any sort of Amp / Combo / Cab etc for Bass.
    My Budget is about £200. I have a Focusrite Audio interface and can DI to that or use a variety of mics.
    E-bay / Reverb etc is where I'm looking. Old or new is fine, I'll probably never gig with it, looks aren't important, functionality and tone is.
    I play a variety of music from Folk and Blues through Rock to Prog
    I have many questions....
    Combo or Head / Cab?
    Wattage - I assume Bass gear of equivalent loudness is higher wattage than guitar amps?
    10" vs 15" ? - my Guitar combos and cab all have 12"speakers, I would naturally think that 15" would be more suitable for bass, what am I missing?
    Desirable onboard bells and whistles - Compressors seem to be useful?
    Any recommendations?

Thanks - any advice appreciated.

2. hbarcat

hbarcat Supporting Member

Aug 24, 2006
    Rochelle, Illinois