Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help me choose the right amp and cab.

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by jimbass55, Dec 9, 2001.

1. Howdy,

I am new to talkbass so forgive me if I say something stupid. I have recently ordered the K&K
    rockabilly pickup and it is now time for a new amp and cab. I would like some recomendations on what everyone likes and dislikes. I am playing 50's style rock, old country, and jump blues,at mostly small venues. I will probably end up gettin a small rig and a BIG RIG so let me know what you think. I would kinda like to get one amp head and then maybe different cab configurations. I am seriously considering the Clarus, but I think ( and Bob seems to think) that it might not be ballsy enough to totally cover all the basis. HELP.................:D

2. Flatbass11

Flatbass11 Supporting Member

May 29, 2001
    Medford, MA
    Sounds like you and me are looking for the same answers.

You say you talked to Bob Gollihur about this and he thinks the Clarus may not cut it doing rockabilly?
    Maybe I should give him a call.

3. Large rig......You are right on track with the pickup you have selected. (I assume you mean the bass max).

The next necessary device is an eq. A stomp-box 7 band works perfect. Dialing out most of the midrange will able you to get as loud as you need with little to no feedback.

Now for the amp...What works best for me is a plain ole pa head. I own Ashleys, Crests, Peaveys, and Crown. They all sound better than those "bass" amps I have played. (I have not played a Claras nor Woods)

Though not necessary, at some point you will want some kind of pre-amp for more volume. A really small mixing board works great and gives you extra inputs for other picups or instruments.

I can't say much about cabs. As long as the speakers don't break up, you can get a good sound out of about anything.