help me choose the right amp...please!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by zycro, Jul 28, 2004.

1. zycro

Jul 28, 2004
    Okay I am just starting out as a bass player, though i have been playing living room jams with my guitar for over 10 years.

I need to buy a bass amp as I joined a Rock band and we hope to start practicing soon. With future gigs in mind i need to pick an amp that is SMALL but POWERFUL. I am thinking of the SWR Workingman's 10. That amp is 80 watts; is that enough for medium sized venue?

I ride a vespa so i need to strap the amp onto my heavyduty backpack w/o dislocating my shoulders. Okay i know your laughing now. Let it all out. Laughter is good for us.

Anyway any recommendations?

:bassist: :help: :D
  2. travatron4000

Dec 27, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    I feel you man, I play double bass and get around on a bike. I either have to borrow a friends car, hitch a ride, or walk. In an area where we get 300 inches of snow a year too. :meh:

But I would recomend getting the at least the 12" or maybe the 2x10" if you can handle it. 15.5"W x 22.25"H x 15.25"D for the 12". You can add an extention speaker to the 10" as well, perhaps you can get one of you band mates to load an extention cab or a bigger amp if you get one. The 10" might work if you dont mind relying on the PA. Also, you didn't mention what kind of music you're playing. Jazz? the 10" is fine. Punk rock? probabally not.

Travis Burleson
  3. Bigwig

Dec 27, 2003
    xm200 or xm200T
    1x15 or 2x10 combo
    200 watts.
    around 400 american.
  4. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    Vespa... amp... er. uh. get an acoustic bass... and uh. put the head stock on a table. or something. :p
  5. Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA