Help me design my MTD 535!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fLaT-fIfTh, Dec 27, 2004.

1. fLaT-fIfTh

Dec 20, 2004
    Producer: GospelChops Inc.
    Myrtle burl on poplar, Maple burl on Ash, Maple on Koa, Wenge neck, Ash neck, Maple neck, Rosewood fingerboard, Maple fingerboard...

What the hell is all this?? I just want a quality bass to funk with! :bassist: I'm new to the bass, so I don't understand all the different wood options and how they affect sound. :help:

Can someone please help me make sense of all these choices?

If it helps, I want to play funk, R&B, Gospel, and Jazz.
    Thanks in advance!
  2. Wasabi1264

Oct 3, 2004

If you want the "signature" MTD sound, go for tulipwood body with a wenge neck and board. That's a very modern sounding bright bass that will cut majorly through the mix. You need to love that sound, and it's not traditional. My old MTD was mahogany with a maple neck and ebony board. It was a fantastic bass with a lot of bottom end and a nice open sound, but it lacked some of the punch for heavy rock stuff.

If I were going to do it again, I'd get a swamp ash body (don't worry too much about the top as it won't affect things sonically as much, so pick what you and Mike like), along with the wenge neck and fingerboard. There will be a bit more midrangey growl associated with wenge, as opposed to a maple neck. If you got a maple neck and fingerboard, along with the swamp ash body, that would be a major funk bass.

Everyone else, feel free to strongly disagree with me if I'm off base on this.
  3. Wasabi1264

Oct 3, 2004