1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help me find my first upright :/

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by XxBassmanxX, Mar 7, 2010.

1. XxBassmanxX

XxBassmanxX

Nov 21, 2001
    Rosman NC
    Ok guys, I know about search function, but I am really overwhelmed with info here. It seems everyone gives different advice on topics such as carved vs. ply and which basses are junk etc. I am a 24 year old bassist looking to come over to the "dark side" and buy an upright. I have had a chance to mess around with a chinese bass that was very hard to play and sounded terrible. I am sure most of that was because of me :p Anyway... I really want to learn to play with a bow, and I have located a few teachers in my area. Since they all have different opinions I figured I would make a post here and get pro advice from my favorite interweb forum... TB!!

To be honest I really want to know about carved vs. ply, and if basses that are setup for pizz would also be good for arco? It seems 99% of the uprights for sell are setup for pizz. Anyway do you guys think that an imported carved bass for $2000 would be a worthy instrument? I found a Romanian bass in that price range that sold for $5k new. I know that that is very much at the low end for fully carved instruments, but is it still going to sound better than a ply? Will a carved bass for that price be a total piece of junk? Is there a certain sound that a carved bass can offer (even the cheap ones) that you cant get from a ply? I have a million more questions but this is a start...

Please PM me if anyone sees a nice deal around NC. I am in the mountains, but willing to drive a little ways. Should I jump on the Upton "Hawkes hybrid" bass?