Help me finding the best songs to practice: Brit 60s and 70s

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by giacecco, Feb 16, 2006.

1. Hello everybody,
    I am a complete novice bass guitar player. A couple of marvellous friends who play professionally helped me with the gear, and had the possibility to take basic lessons for a few months, but then I left the country, and now live in the UK. After having settled down, I want to start again playing.

I would like to proceed with a self-training phase. My Tascam trainer will be of help, but, independently of the music I personally know, I wanted to ask for your advice in selecting a small set of songs on which I could practice, practice, practice...

About my skills... well, I am practising on "Money" by the Pink Floyd these days, and I feel quite comfortable. It is challenging enough, particularly after the first few minutes. I would like learning something by the Led Zeppelin... I really love the British music of the late 60s and 70s... Beatles, Stones, Kinks... but I am relatively too young to know about them, and to know where to find the best sounding bass guitar :)

Please help!

2. d8g3jdh

d8g3jdh Guest

Aug 9, 2005
    Ooh ooh I get to post first! YAY!

Welcome to talkbass! Stick around, there's oodles of information to be had. :)

You're working with a great range, here's some recommendations:

Led Zeppelin: Dazed and Confused, Ramble on, Lemon Song (harder), What is and what should never be, Good times bad times...oh there's many, check out the first 5 albums

Pink Floyd: Money's a good start, also check out Hey you, easy to learn but ****ing hard to get down 100% (for me anyways)

Beatles: Just about anything really, Paul was quite the 4-string slinger. Immediately comes to mind: Day Tripper, Come together, She's so Heavy...really just go through their albums and learn the ones you like.

Queen: Another on bites the Dust and Under pressure have great lead bass, and alot of other stuff is good too.