Help me (guitarist) get better on the BASS

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by doublestop, Jul 13, 2004.

1. I have been playing guitar for 25 years. My life was getting boring, until, one month ago I finally 'moved over to the dark side' ;) and bought a BASS ! It's a 4 string G&L Tribute (Premium) L-2000. A very nice bass, I find.

Anyway, I'm practicing like crazy. Bass ain't exactly easy but those nice deep tones are SO rewarding !

Do you guys have any hints, suggestions, websites etc. for a guitarplayer who wants to learn the bass ?

2. SuperSluggard

Jan 2, 2004
    I don't have many tips (hints or whatever) but...
    Learn to use all your fingers on your fretting hand. Don't just use 1 or 2. Since you play guitar you should have no problem with this.

In a band, don't overplay or play super fancy stuff. Usually it sounds like you're playing a bad solo over the rest of the band. You're there to hold down the rhythm. (just in case you join a band. I don't have many tips, so I should include all i can)

Don't get up and beat up the guy in the store playing fancy slap basslines. You will go to the jail.

There's really no short cuts. You can't learn how to play bass in 15 minutes.

Uh.. Eat a healthy breakfast.

this site
  3. Matt Till

Matt Till

Jun 1, 2002
    Edinboro, PA

Come to the dark side.

My advice, listen and be willing to learn.
  4. loobahood8b

Jul 13, 2004