Help me identify this wah (?) effect and how to get it

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by oqwirp, Dec 6, 2020.

1. oqwirp

oqwirp

Dec 6, 2020
    Hi y'all,

I have no experience with pedals or effects and I am just starting to look in to it, motivated by the sounds in my favourite tracks. In particular, there is this sound in Eddie Henderson's Prance On which I love but I am not sure what it is. I think the best way I could describe it is as a very slow wah, starting open and then sliding closed? But I don't know! Track is here, the line I'm on about starts at 0:15 (I've moved the track forward to then so if you hit play you should hear it immediately).

Is this something I could create with a wah pedal or an envelope filter with an adjustable decay?

I was thinking of getting a multi-effects unit like the Boss GT-1B because it seems fairly cheap and powerful (less than £200 but its a looper and a whole bunch of effects in one). Do you think that would be able to make this sound or will I need a dedicated pedal? Or are there better multi-effects pedals I could look in to?

Thanks so much for your help bassheads!

2. oqwirp

oqwirp

Dec 6, 2020
    This track also has the same kinda sound, I'm wondering if it could be a bass synth rather than an effects chain on a bass guitar? In that case, is there a way to reproduce this on a bass guitar or does this need a dedicated synth?

3. Nighttrain1127

Nighttrain1127 Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2004
    Near Worcester MA
    Sounds more like some sort of fat envelope filter. Maybe a MR Black FwonkBeta Or a source Audio Spectrum? Just my guess

4. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011

I am not all that into Wahs and Envelop filters...but my guess is EH BassBalls will get you pretty close.

5. oqwirp

oqwirp

Dec 6, 2020