1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help me make it through the gig

Discussion in 'Ask Todd Johnson [Archived]' started by punkrocko, Mar 18, 2009.

1. punkrocko

punkrocko

Jun 18, 2002
    Nashville, TN
    Hi Todd, My name is Bill Staudt. I studied with you in the early 90’s at BIT.

For the last few years I’ve worked as a hired gun type session bassist. Some of these gigs are uninspiring at best. I struggle to get through them, and often feel disappointed at my performance. Instead of being on top of my game I feel that I’m being dragged down to the level of the bands weaker players. Being a working musician I need to do these “in the trenches” style gigs, but I shouldn’t feel miserable afterwards.

Do you have any suggestions on how to transcend this? Meditation, yoga, diet, suggested literature?

2. Todd Johnson

Todd Johnson

Sep 27, 2005
    Anthem, AZ
    Hi Bill,

Sorry I'm so slow in getting back to you. It's great to hear from you my friend!! I'm glad to hear you're playing for a living!! Well done!!

Since you're asking my opinion: The only cure I know for what you're going through is to quit doing these "knucklehead" gigs. They're dragging you down and will eventually STEAL YOUR JOY AND LOVE OF MUSIC if you're not careful. I've seen it happen to SO many people....

This may not be what you want to hear, but you know me well enough to know I'm not jiving you. Fair enough?.....

My recommendation is to invest in YOU and YOUR MUSIC!! That should be something you'll be passionate about. Start TODAY!!!!! As things progress for you and your music, then you'll be able to "back away" from these other gigs. Make sense??