Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help me out - I almost never start threads!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joe P, Apr 7, 2005.

1. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    I'm thinking of investing in a cabinet; like - tomorrow!

I know this is considered radical, but keep in mind that I was a sound man before I was a bassist!

I listened to many 'bass bottoms', and nothing really grabbed me until I plugged into a JBL JRX125. Take a look for a sec here, will you?

http://www.jblpro.com/JRX/JRX125.htm

They're selling these things at a big local music store for $399 - now that seems like A-LOT of cab for four hundred bucks.

D'dya see the specs?

36Hz - 16kHz for -10dB points
    45Hz - 12KHz for -03dB points
    500W power capacity; 2000W peak!
    100dB efficiency
    133dB Max SPL
    Nominal Dispersion: 90º x 50º
    4-Ohm nominal impedance

I spent about half an hour with my bass and pedals and a 300W Hartke HA3000 amp (Head is the same price as the speaker, bytheway: $399) plugged into one of these JRX125s. I was thrilled with the sound I was hearing - the mids were SO-so tight!

That rig absolutely BARKED!! It was startling; it just pumped that big room with bass (most of the whole store is in one huge room with a concert stage on one wall -- Man! I was rattling the snares on every snare drum in the percussion department!). That thing just grabbed me by the lapels even at ten paces.

Am I just spun, or what?? I'm used to hearing basses pumped direct through PA stacks; I just can't seem to get into the "bass bottom' sound, as compared to the PA-stack sound!