Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

help me pick a new head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GetLow, Jun 1, 2005.

1. i currently have a peavey 410tvx cab (350 watts @ 4 ohms). as of now, i am powering it with my tnt115 combo... it puts out 200 watts at 2 ohms. i would like to get a new head so i can bring my 410 to college and leave my combo at home.

my funds are limited to about $400 (like i said, i'm a college student). i was thinking about picking up an ashdown mag 300h (300 watts @ 4ohms) or a GK 400rb-III (240 watts @ 4ohms). i play mostly rock, some blues and a little jazz.

would these be under-powering the cab?

currently i am not playing with a band.... maybe shortly. i play an american hot-rodded p bass.

i would like to hear any and all opinions.

2. Doug Parent

Doug Parent Supporting Member

May 31, 2004
    San Diego, Ca.
    Dealer Nordstrand Pickups.
    buy something used that has more power. (if you can)

3. protoz

protoz

Nov 30, 2000
    Iowa
    +1 on more power.

I would try to save a bit more and get more power so you can have a rig that will give you enough power in a band if you decide to join one. 300 watts is really the bare minimum I believe in a band setting.

I was using a 300 watt amp for the past month or so before my new Sunn came in the mail today and it BARELY kept up and I had to push it into distortion just to be able to feel it let alone hear it over two half stacks. With this 1200 watt monster I have I can push my cab with enough clean power to easily be heard.

Maybe look into a Kustom Groovebass which is around 500-600. That should give you all the power you will ever need.

4. thanks a lot. i had never thought of kustom throughout my searching. i appreciate it. now i just have to track one down locally to play through it.

5. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member