Help me pick one.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BillytheBassist, Oct 17, 2006.

1. BillytheBassist

BillytheBassist

Aug 18, 2005
    Texas
    I am about to purchase a new bass, I have several decent quality basses and have been satisfied with them all. But i'm ready to buy a bass that will serve for anything i need.. a "do it all" bass if you will. So,... i've been shopping now for a few years i suppose. And i've narrowed it down to two. My choices are.
    A fender american deluxe precision V... or
    A Warwick dolphin SN 5.
    I'd like to hear from anyone that cares to comment but, especially from any of you guy's that have experience with one or both of these basses. This will be my last purchase for at least a few years so i need help making the decision...
    Thanks in advance!

2. pegless

pegless

Nov 29, 2005
    the fender is plush. i usually am not a fan but that particular edition tickeld my fingers.

3. BillytheBassist

BillytheBassist

Aug 18, 2005
    Texas
    thanks to those that voted..... still having a hard time choosing.

4. I would have to say that it is up to whatever tone you are looking for - a Fender will tend to give you a more old school tone compared to a more modern sounding Warwick.

If I have to be honest, get an Ibanez or a Washburn, They're not the top sounding names but they posess the best sounds AFAIC.

I used to be a name snob until I bought a Rick 4001 copy that sounded better than the real thing, now I don't care.

My 8 string is made by Mazeti (Who?). cheap as chips through neck bass.

Remember that these are opinions and your own one is the most important. I've bought too many basses because they sounded good in reviews and turned out to be no good to me.

MY perfect Ibanez SR1006 might be complete garbage to you.

Just do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it. do it.

5. BillytheBassist

BillytheBassist