Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

help me pick out an amp =)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BryLMoo, Jul 6, 2004.

1. BryLMoo

BryLMoo

Mar 25, 2004
    Charlotte, NC
    Alright, I'm tired of playing through the stock amp that came with my squier p-bass combo pack, as i've been using it almost daily for the past 3 years. It's a 'Frontman 15 B'.

Any suggestions? I'm not looking to spend an arm and a leg for an amp, I just want the most bang for my buck.

Thanks for any help =)

Bryan :cool:

2. My vote is for a Peavey, then when you get tired of that a SWR Workingman.

3. BryLMoo

BryLMoo

Mar 25, 2004
    Charlotte, NC
    if you know the price range on these amps, please post it too.

thanks,

bryan

4. metron

metron Fluffy does not agree

Sep 12, 2003
    Lakewood Colorado
    Just a general comment after being through amp buying for years. If you plan to be a bass player for a long time, save up and get the amp with the best tone and that meets all your current needs and any needs you think you might have in the future. You may not think you are on a quest for the ultimate tone right now but you will be...

you will be... :D

5. BryLMoo

BryLMoo

Mar 25, 2004
    Charlotte, NC
    I just need something thats not going to cost 1,234,567,890$

6. kyo

kyo

Jul 6, 2004
    i recomend not getting anything that you dont think you will be able to use down the line in bands, shows etc. you're better off going all the way to a half stack instead of getting something in between, IMO.

7. yea i agree you very quickly realise your needing something bigger and pushing your newish kit to it's limits!

8. I would offer my Peavey amp but I have no other amp. I'm going to a pawn shop, so if I find a good one for cheap, you might get the hand-me-down, or the new-to-me one, depedig on if i want my stuff to match or not. :p :D

9. BryLMoo

BryLMoo

Mar 25, 2004