Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help Me, Please!

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by firstedition14, Jul 23, 2004.

1. Hi. I'm new to the double bass forum. I need some help because I have some major technical problems in my playing that are hindering my ability to progress. They are the following:
    1. Bow technique- I play French bow. I have a tendency to spread my fingers out very wide across the stick making a death grip on it and locking my thumb. Consequently, the joints in my arms become stiff and i use the motion of my shoulder. Recently my shoulder has begun hurting while I'm practicing, and it is also very difficult for me to do quick notes and string crossings while the joints in my arm are locked. This locked position also makes me lose my musicality in fast passages because I am struggling so much with my bow arm. I have been told to play more on the side of the thumb and play like my arm is just swinging from my side and take that relaxed position and just place it on the bow. I have also done an exercise where you completely take the thumb off and support the bow with the pinky finger to try to get the feeling of a loose grip on the bow.
    2. I have a problem of lifting my fingers too high off the fingerboard. My bass used to have strings that were so high off of the fingerboard that I could slide my entire hand between the strings and the fingerboard. This is now fixed, but I still find my fingers lifting up the same distance they used to be required to.
    3. In thumb position, the joint in my finger collapses (also from the old setup). I've started to get better about this, but if I have to stretch for a note the rest of my fingers collapse or if I'm doing fast passages. My fingers then get locked in this new position.