1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help me purchase my first bass (and amp)....please?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JimmyCraig, Jan 19, 2013.

1. JimmyCraig

JimmyCraig

Jul 12, 2012
    Hi there

I've been playing piano for 2 years and guitar for 1 and I guess you could say bass for 6 months, but I've never had my own bass, I always used my friends, even though I was the bass player for a band for a while.

I love bass guitars, the whole bass sound and really want to get more proficient at it. So here I am

The bass I'm looking for needs to be versatile, I want to play things like Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd and the Jack White stuff that actually uses a bass, but might be playing metal and some indie stuff. I recently got into Death From Above 1979 and it would be nice if I could get a sound like that with the rest. Of course I understand that no one bass-amp combo can do this all so compromise is alright.

Right. Now I need the bass and amp for gigging as well as home use, so the amp needs to be loud enough to compete with the band (at like clubs and bars etc). I'm not looking for any more than 4 strings. My budget is around $1200 for both the amp and bass. I will definitely be up for used.

If you took the time to read this, thanks, sorry I promise I will give you that minute of your life back at some point :D

2. Liv3rman

Liv3rman

Dec 28, 2012
    You won't go far wrong with a MIM P or PJ for that sort of cash, plus a bundle left over for a nice 1x15 300w combo.

3. topo morto

topo morto

Mar 22, 2010
    Lloegyr
    If you want to be versatile soundwise, maybe consider spending a bit less on the bass and amp and getting a pedal or two to tweak your sound?

4. Liv3rman

Liv3rman

Dec 28, 2012
    +1