Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help me record on my computer...

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by SpankBass, Mar 31, 2003.

1. Birthday is comin up, and I figured that I may want to get some home recording stuff for my computer. I'm really new to recroding, but from what I've gathered, I need a good soundcard intended for recording, a mixer, and a program.

Thing is, I don't know what materials would suit me as a beginner. What would be your guys' suggestions on what to buy? I'm lookin for cheap, but effective, you know something that will get the job done for me right now but wouldn't really make me feel bad when it turns out that I don't like it anymore (kinda like buying your first Squier P-bass).

My comp is a Compaq Presario 6000, Pentium 4 1.80 GHz, with 512 MB of RAM and about 61 gigs of free space. My current soundcard is still the same one that it came with which is SoundMax or something like that.

Thanks for the help!

2. 5stringDNA

5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    Get a SoundblasterAudigy Platinum (with the front-ported live-drive). I'm gonan pick one whever I get a job here, lol. Excellent sound quality and easy to record with- comes with some interesting software as well. I think it runs about $170 for the Audigy 2..if oyu look on the net you can find the Audigy 1 (practically the same thing) for $100. There is probably just as good or better stuff out tehre, but not that I know of.

3. Would I want to look for this kind of stuff at some place like Circuit City, or some place like Guitar Center?

Online MAY be an option.

4. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Please stay away from Creative Labs. Better get a decent card, e.g. M-Audio/Midiman Delta Audiophile 2496 or Delta 44.

5. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us