Help me shop smart

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Dave Castelo, Jun 23, 2001.

1. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000
    Hi i´m a total newbie about the amplification, so please help me out:

so i wanted to buy a combo amp (around 100 w) but i need more power than that but not too much...

So i think i could use a Bass Head and a cabinet... i made some research but i really need you help...

In your opinion, which is the best bass head that:

-is around $400 (or less)
    -has SOME power (i don´t really need much...)

in example... something like the Crate 220H is what i´m looking for... is affordable and gives me 200 w of power...

but that´s just my newbie point of view... i want to know if you can recomend me some really good Head amp for the price....

PS: any good store in Tucson AZ you can recomend? i´m going this july...
  2. captainpabst

Mar 18, 2001
    heads for around 400 bux:

GK 400rb (449)

hartke 2000, 3000, 3500, 4000 (299 (i think) - 499)

yorkville (somebody help me out - i know you can get one for around 400...right?)

yeah...there's the crate, but... can also get a kustom for about that much, but...

i'd seriously consider going used, but if you'd rather not, i'd go for the gallien krueger 400rb. you won't be dissappointed.
  3. Dave Castelo

Dave Castelo

Apr 19, 2000
    whoa the Hartke 4000 looks nice...
    thanks... more coments are welcome
  4. White_Knight

Mar 19, 2000
    I'd definitely look into the Hartke. Check out my review of the Crate in the reviews section. GK is another really solid name. You might perhaps be able to get some sort of deal on a used SWR Workingman's head. Though I personally don't like them much, Peavey keeps coming as well (though I have no idea what they run for prices anymore).

I guess my first choice would either be a GK or Hartke. Perhaps a used Ampeg.
  5. captainpabst

Mar 18, 2001
    white knight is right about the peavy - i had forgotten about them. firebass or nitrobass.