1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help me spend my money GK...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GKR1, Oct 24, 2009.

1. GKR1

GKR1

Oct 22, 2009
    San Diego
    Ok. I need a new rig, I stopped playing out 5 years ago and I sold my rig back then, currently, I started playing again and I've been rehearsing with my b100R and using my Sanamps Driver for XLR out.
    d I'm not sure what I really want to tote around and what I can get away with without spending way too much on cabs or power that I do not need. Like to keep it small and lite. Small to mid size gigs (100 to 300 patrons) Playing style finger and pick, Classic Rock / Ol School Heavy Metal / Slap and Funk. I think RB400IV might not be enough power at 8ohms. However, I think I could get great growl from low wattage.
    Options:

GK (Neo) 700RB-112 combo or GK 700RB-210 or 115 combo -- Which one is better sounding for my application?

Or

GK 700RB with 210 Neo Cab or GK 700RB with 410 Neo Cab

Or

GK (NEO)1001RB-212 bass amp combo

Can I get by with 210 cab for just stage monitor, playing in power trio, Marshall 50W half stack & hard hitting drummer. I know there are a lot of gray areas but over all I need your input.

Also, is riding the rail feasible with GK hi-watt combo amps? or is it strictly a modular setup dealio.

Thank you

2. sleepytime

sleepytime

Nov 10, 2007
    Chicago, IL
    700 and 410 is a good all around combo.

I would think a 210 would suffice for monitoring, and a 400 should be plenty.

If you want to rail it out, think about an 800 and 410. IMO, that's the GK gold standard.

3. GKR1

GKR1

Oct 22, 2009
    San Diego

Thanks for the reply, you know I'm not sure at what amount of output it is considered rail? I'm worried that I'll drown out the other guys?