Help me to identify this Warwick

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Papersen, Aug 14, 2004.

1. Papersen

Papersen Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2002
    I´ve just found this Warwick.

First of all, I don´t know if it´s a real one
    or just another crappy copy.
    I´ve been searching Warwick site, but this model (Streamer Jazz Bass) seems inexistant. Besides, I´ve never heard the wood "Carolena" on Warwick basses.
    The price U$S 399 is really tempting me, but I´m not an Warwick expert so any input will be helpful.

2. I could be wrong, I'm not an expert, but this appears to be a Warwick neck bolted on to a homemade body. The bridge and strap buttons aren't what I've seen on Warwicks. The input jack is at the wrong place, Warwick puts the jack to the side not on the face of the body.

Do not buy this--unless somebody else on this forum can give more info that I'm not aware of.
  3. Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    Warwick Rockbass streamer with a body that was stripped of the original paintjob. (and a different neck from another warwick)

Streamer STD which IS a bolt on model, i just forget which bridge it has so i cant comment for sure.

Might be what its said to be though. The Streamer STD model is the budget version of the bass, i just dont remember the body looking like that wood.
  4. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    The Streamer STD that I played before buying my Vette had that one piece bridge, opposed to the traditional two piece Warwick bridge. I am pretty sure they evolved into the Rockbass line. Though, those older models feature more "exotic" woods than the modern maple necked Rockbasses. I believe they were made in Korea. But I could be wrong.

That model bass was also the only Warwick I have played that I seriously disliked everything about it (B string defined flabby, bad tone, and I believe it's neck was different from the average Warwick bolt on)*.