Help Me Understand the Chords of "Anthropology"

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by WillPlay4Food, Feb 1, 2005.

1. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    I've always wanted to learn to really play jazz. In junior high I played jazz on alto & baritone sax but since I just played what was on the sheet music I never really understood what was going on with chords, theory, etc.

So, a little while ago my buddy Josh sent me a copy of Anthropology. I stuck it in a drawer where it lay forgotten for some time. This morning I found this sheet music again so I started practicing it.

I ran through the song, playing Root-5th for the chords listed on the chart just to try and get a feel for the song. After doing this a few times, I decided to break down the chords and try to figure out how everything fit together.

Last Fall I took a few lessons with a jazzer and he taught me to figure out the context of the chords (I, ii, V, vi, etc.) then learn the modal scale associated with each song. His reasoning was once I learned the scales for each chord (within the context of the song), then I could construct a solid walking bass line that flowed between the chords, as opposed to R-5, R-5, R-5.

Now I started associating modes to the chords, as instructed. But, some of the chords used don't fit the key of Bb Major. Instead of being minor, some chords were Major, and vice versa. I took the time to break down the chords and how they fit into the key of Bb Major as shown below.

I've bolded the chords I have questions with. Would you folks kindly explain why/how these chords work? I understand theory is not like a set of brick walls, where deviations cause musical crashes, but I would like to understand how Charlie Parker & Dizzy Gillespie fit these supposedly "wrong" chords into Anthropology and made it sound good.