1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

HELP ME with choosing a college please!

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by Masturbassist, Jun 8, 2012.

1. Masturbassist

Masturbassist

Oct 24, 2010
    hey guys, :help:
    i'm looking at some colleges that might be a good fit for me and i'm not very good at this sort of research haha :p. I'm definitely looking for a university rather than a conservatory. I have heard some colleges say you have to be either JUST CLASSICAL or JUST JAZZ, and i'm right in the middle, i started playing classical for almost 6 years and than i started jazz and i LOVE IT! so a school that is well-rounded in both jazz and classical teachers or ensembles would be awesome too. I'm near Chicago but location is less of an issue... i'm on a pretty low budget so anywhere thats generous with their financial aid and scholarships would pretty much be a must!

also, i've been planning on auditioning with the Dragonetti, mostly because i feel like it's style is soo me, but now i'm hearing its not as impressive as some of the other pieces? should I look more into some of the other standard repertoire?

a few colleges i have been looking into are Oberlin, Berklee, U of Cincinnati, Indiana, UNT a couple in Michigan, and of course northwestern, but unfortunatley haven't visited any yet...

i guess i side tracked here, sorry for the whole life story :smug:! so basically i just need the usual college help: a list of places to look into and visit *preferably with good financial aid*, or take sample lessons over the summer, would be FANTASTIC! as you can see i'm FULL of questions! and THANKS SO MUCH!:D

-P.S. this is my first post so have mercy!:bag:

2. chicagodoubler

chicagodoubler

Aug 7, 2007
    Chicago, that toddling town
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland, Genz Benz