HELP ME ?!?!?!?!!?!?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by jason1360, Jan 28, 2001.

1. jason1360

Jan 28, 2001
    Hi !, I just started learning bass, i took my dads old one(its a thunder I-A r soemthing liek that) and i was wondering if there was n e way to develop the hard top you get on your fingers n e faster ? , because my friend plays lead guitar and he has them and i keep getting blood blisters when i play my bass for a while ?, also could ne 1 who has ne, send me nirvana tabs ? thanx to ne 1 who helps out ! :)

2. Jeffrey A-Bomb

Jeffrey A-Bomb Drink Coffee & Destroy Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2000
    Silver Spring, MD
    For all your tab needs, checkout either or :)
  3. pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    Jason, believe it or not, your amp is what's making your fingers sore.

Most people who are just starting on bass roll off so much of the treble in order to get rid of unwanted finger noise that all the "punch" goes away. It gets rid of the finger noise but then you start playing with a heavier and heavier touch. Blisters and bad technique are the results.

Crank up the volume on your amp and play with a lighter touch. You also can play much faster with a light touch than with a touch that's heavy enough to cause a blister.

Start right now on theory. An hour of actual instrument practice and an hour of study will get you where you want to go much faster than practice alone.

At this point in your career there MUST be one all encompassing golden rule. If it hurts after you've finished playing, you are doing something wrong. Injuries are a very real possibility when the bass is played wrong. You can shorten or lengthen your career by YEARS with the playing habits that develop in the first year or two.