Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Help! MiniDisc newbie here!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Lackey, Feb 15, 2005.

1. Lackey

Lackey

May 10, 2002
    Los Angeles
    Ok, so I've decided against an MP3 player for various reasons, and am seeking more info on MD players. For some reason info is hard to come by on the internet, not to mention that models are introduced and discontinued at the speed of light. Basically I'm planning on using this for music playback only (sick of dragging my huge and expensive CD library around), no recording, and I want good audio quality and storage capacity.

So here's what I'm asking in a nutshell:

1) Do MD players have the ability to rip music from any CD / hard drive (does RealOne or WindowsMedia work?) / mp3 source?

2) Do minidiscs actually store up to 5 hours of music on a single disc? If so, what quality is that at? I won't listen to anything under 128 kbps. I ask because I looked at minidiscs and they said " 80 minutes " right on the front.

3) Can I install the necessary computer software on more than one computer to faciliate ripping of music? I.E., my computer, our studios computer, my buddies computer...

4) Sony or Sharp? Seems many prefer Sharp, but according to their website they are offering no models at this time.

5) What kinda quality can I get for around 100 bucks, is it safe to buy used, and is there any difference in audio quality between brands/models.

whew, I'm an MD idiot. Any and all responses would be appreciated, Yes and No answers will suffice, and some good links would be very helpful.

Thank you in advance.

P.S. I checked google, epinions, amazon, talkbass search etc already. Basically confused me more than I already was!