1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help, my tone is in a funk!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by MrHeadfirst, Apr 17, 2010.

1. MrHeadfirst

MrHeadfirst

Apr 17, 2010
    ok...anyone who has been playing a while has gone through this, and right now, I am stuck and I cant find the sound!
    I have been playing for 14 years, and i have had a lot of equipment, but recently, i have started playing a lot more lead work on my bass. nothing crazy, but more runs and mid/high register work. I play in a rock/funk/blues band...so i cover a wide array of sound. I got the rock sound down, i got my slap tone covered, but for the life of me, i cannot dial in what i would call a "modern" tone. something more victor wooten'y' if you will, with a clear and defined attack through the midrange that doesnt get muddy...if any of that makes sense. he has a very articulate sound when playing runs, and can even pull a snap or pop out and it sounds so well rounded. of course i know a lot of that is in his style, but i see people playing all the time and i soo envy their "modern" style tone.
    my current live rig consists of a vintage sunn 2x15 cab, with a peavey tmax head. dbx 1066 compressor, i play a washburn rb2000 bass with emg cs music man pup and btc control.
    id appreciate any input on what you folks are using, even eq or compressor settings. i just cant get the sound, its making me insane.

2. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY
    Although you may be thinking "modern tone", your rig is thinking "old school classic rock tone"... :meh: