1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help! Neck Strings not aligned Ibanez 5 string (pictures)

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by powerslave12r, Feb 21, 2013.

1. powerslave12r

powerslave12r

Jan 1, 2010
    I have a few issues with this used Ibanez SR305 I ordered online from Guitar Center.

1. The strings don't seem to be centered. The B has more distance from the edge and the G has a much less distance. Looking at the pictures, do you think I need to:

a) Do nothing and enjoy.
    b) Adjust the neck. (Is the neck pulled along the pivot by grabbing from the top, or laterally slid across by grabbing from the bottom?)
    c) I am a newbie so I don't know if it will be wiser to just take it to Guitar Center.
    d) Return it and look for another.

I looked at the bridge and it seems pretty symmetrically mounted, plus it aligns well with some bolts on the body of the bass.

2. There was a lot of fret buzz that I reduced by adjusting the action. But for the first few frets, there is still fret buzz on all strings, but not on any open strings. This seems to indicate I need some relief. The next looks pretty straight to my untrained eye. Is loosening it one quarter a good idea?

Thanks a ton! Other than these, I'm in love with the bass.

Tried to take these from as parallel a position as possible. Click through for larger.
    Around the 3rd fret.
    QLxtQTHl.

Around the 24th fret.
    xYMb3czl.

2. geoff_in_nc

geoff_in_nc

Dec 13, 2008
    Raleigh, NC
    Try this - I think this will work for your case.
    1) Loosen strings - but leave them on.
    2) Loosen neck bolts -don't take them out, just back them out a few turns max - probably more like one or two turns.
    3) (in this particular case) pull headstock in the direction of the B string side until strings line up nicely.
    4) Tighten neck bolts.
    5) Tune, play, enjoy.