1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Help needed finding a bass store in San Francisco

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by hegi, Mar 27, 2006.

1. hegi

hegi

Mar 27, 2006
    Romania
    Hey everyone!!

I will be visiting San Francisco in a few weeks. can anyone recommend me a bass store there?? Thank you :)

2. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    Your best bet would be Gelb Music in nearby San Mateo, or even better, Guitar Showcase in not-as-nearby San Jose. If anyone knows of a better place to find basses, I'd like to know, too!

EDIT: If you're willing to travel a couple of hours out of town, the Alembic factory is just up the highway in Santa Rosa, as well.

3. Folmeister

Folmeister Knowledge is Good - Emile Faber Supporting Member

May 7, 2003
    Tomball, Texas
    I know of no "bass only" stores in The City. The closest is Juan Ortiz's shop up in Rancho Cordova. The City does have some usual suspects to check out: Rocker Guitars, GC, Gary Brawer's shop on Lafayette Street. Gelb is your best bet. Guitar Showcase in San Jose is a good trek

4. metalbass.com

metalbass.com

Mar 20, 2006
    If you are looking for a place right there in the city
    drop by Haight Ashbury Music.

They have alot of decent stuff for you to check out...

peace

5. pulseczar

pulseczar

May 7, 2004
    San Jose, CA
    +1. Last time I was there I think the most exotic they got was Tobys and Alembics, but if you explore the shop, they have so much vintage guitars and guitars used by stars etc. A very interesting walkthrough.

6. JameelRS

JameelRS

Jan 28, 2006
    Denver, Co.