Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

HELP! Newbie has problem going from 4 to 5

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Billy Low, May 28, 2003.

1. Billy Low

Billy Low

Apr 14, 2003
    Chicago
    Sandberg Guitars
    Who wudda thunk that the transition from 4 to five strings would be so difficult?!?! As a newbie
    (1.5 years)I had been told that my progression in playing (according to more experienced players)had come along more rapidly than most newbies.

The problem that I had was feeling that 4 strings just were not enough. Since the style of music that I play has a lot of bass synth, and I play live next to a hammond B3 (THINK GOSPEL!)I felt that even drop tuning the E string just did'nt cut it. So I dropped cash on a Conklin GT-5, AND NOW I PLAY AS IF I AM JUST STARTING OUT AGAIN!

For some reason I just cannot adjust. I find myself fumbling around the neck. Thinking that the string spacing may have been a problem, I've tooled around w/different 5 and 6 bangers to no avail!

Has anyone else come across this? If so please offer suggestions:bawl:

2. LoJoe

LoJoe

Sep 5, 2002
    Concord, NC USA.